Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Rusty bucket – taste two

Posted by docdude on December 13, 2011

Had 2nd of 5 iron infusions today.  Bletch on the rusty nails taste.  Thank goodness the nurse is so pleasant and fun to talk to….helps pass the time.  Hemoglobin was 7.something yesterday.  Should start going up soon.

Had to have my stoma site (tube insertion site) seared with silver nitrate today.  Think about getting hand sanitizer in a cut and multiply times 10.  It’s becoming a ritual every two weeks which is way too often.

Have slightly elevated temp tonight (99.6) and will watch it carefully.  Voice sounds like I’ve been hanging at a smokey bar drinking whiskey.

Last craft show was on Sunday and it was “okay”.  Covered the registration fees and then a little.  1/2 way to cost of new tires (ooohhh be still my beating heart…the excite is almost more than I can bear).  Gotta love sarcasm.

Only 3 more days until winter break for kids….16 days….24/7….that reminds me that I need to go buy duct tape.

Haven’t started shopping and haven’t put up any decorations.  I am not “humbug” just not into the whole thing this year.  I know, I will need to put on my happy face and at least pretend a little for the kids.  I’ve told them that it will be very slim pickings this year and I know the boys understand…I am just not confident that it won’t end in disappointment (them) and guilt (me).  I struggle with what to buy them that I can afford and they will appreciate…socks just doesn’t cut it for a 16 year old or a 14 year old (not when they really want laptops).  Not even going to think about the girl and her comments.

I am staying mindful of the “happiness” quota for the day.  Didn’t hit the mark today although I did laugh at the clumsiness of the cat as she misjudged the distance of a jump and did a very ungraceful claw scramble/fail.  She glared at me as if it was my fault and then ignored me for hours.  Still makes me smile.

Donating a bunch of scarves to a local women’s shelter.  Feels good to be able to give to others – especially now that I know how tough it is to be on the receiving end.  If we all give just a little of what we are able to offer (natural talents, time, resources, whatever) it can really make a difference to those around us.

Wednesday is going to be “random act of kindness day” for me.  That is my challenge….find someone who could benefit from a small gesture of kindness. Not sure who/how/where/why/what – will include my results in the next blog post.  Meanwhile…challenge is on…will you take on the challenge and post about it?  Remember the movie “Pay it Forward”?

5 Responses to “Rusty bucket – taste two”

  1. pharphelonus said

    Great idea on donating to the women’s shelter and random acts of kindness day. It’s amazing how sometimes, just smiling and warmly greeting someone that is caught off guard can have a really positive impact on the rest of their day, and yours.

    Duct tape. Brilliantly funny line.

    • docdude said

      I agree…what may seem to be such a small gesture can ripple forward with excellent results. I love it when someone holds open the door for me – I will do the same for others and smile while doing it.

      Duct tape and closet doors that lock from the outside – 2 items every parent must have!

  2. Van Aggson said

    Cats are funny little people.

  3. Mr. Magoo said

    Am total gastrectomy patient as well. Three years since initial stomach cancer diagnosis. Had feeding tube to supplement oral intake for about 10 months. Had irritation at entry site several times; had the silver nitrate treatment about 3 times. Was always very effective. I always felt the irritation developed because the tube moved around the entry. Sometimes it was unavoidable, or due to some accidents like the grandson kicking me there, or the tube getting caught in my clothing as I was undressing. But, generally, I kept it stationary by taping it down under my clothing across my gut, just about even with my belly button and above the pants belt level. I gave it a little slack, but not much. That worked for me pretty well. I used plastic tape. Hang in there!!

    • docdude said

      I agree Mr. Magoo….securing the tube is the #1 way to avoid irritation. I keep my tube totally taped down. My site seems to get irritated if I sit upright (like at computer, driving, craft shows) for extended periods. I try to limit sitting straight and will slouch back whenever possible. This limits time on ‘puter but I know it helps. My stoma site is approximately 2″ above and left of belly button. It doesn’t interfere with waistbands.

      Congrats on the three years post cancer!!! I hope you enjoy every day — stomach cancer does not often leave many survivors. We are some of the fortunate ones.

      Katherine

What are your thoughts on this???