Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

For my blog readers…

Posted by docdude on December 16, 2011

Christmas is just around the

corner….use discount code

HOLIDAY to receive 20% off all

orders thru December 25th!!!

ENVIABLE CREATIONS 

Random Act of Kindness Update:  While running to the post office in the pouring rain I saw a guy walking with a soaking wet paper bag over his head.  I pulled over and asked if he wanted to trade the paper bag for an umbrella.  We traded (ugh on what to do with a soaking wet paper bag in the car….lol).  [Yes, I could have given him a ride but that would have lasted one time and the umbrella will last him much longer…besides, I confess that I am not comfortable giving strangers rides in my car unless they are really ancient and I know I could take them on *giggle*]

Did anyone else give/receive a Random Act of Kindness?

Remember:   “You may not be able to change the world, but you can choose to be a world of change for one person.” Each day, find that person and change their world. ~Dr. Katherine M. Howard

Three iron infusions down – two more to go.

______________

Additional thoughts/comments:

I have received some feedback praising me for my Random Act of Kindness.  My first response is “awww….wasn’t nuttin” but reality is that I made a conscious decision to do some small good deed that day. Would I have stopped on any other day…I don’t know….I would like to think I would have but I honestly don’t know.

It also wasn’t “nuttin” to the gentleman walking in the rain. I know when I receive the kindness of a stranger, it makes me feel really good inside and it makes me realize that the world is not a horrible bad place. I am sure my gesture touched him in a positive way.

I hope people understand that it is not about doing it for the praise…that is not why I am sharing this with others.  I am hoping to inspire someone else to do their own good deed.  Years ago I watched the movie “Pay it Forward” and it really stayed with me.  I hope that my good deed will “pay it forward” in motivating others into action which will further motivate more and more.  Imagine what it would be like if everyone got into the habit of helping/encouraging/supporting others…  This possibility makes me smile.

Mahatma Gandhi said it best “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

 

7 Responses to “For my blog readers…”

  1. pharphelonus said

    Spreading your sunshine, even in the rain. Beautiful.

  2. kccc5 said

    a random act of total niceness towards me…my 8 year old daughter and i had just flown back from a visit when we realized she had left her favorite doll of 5 years (and dirty as heck…but I can’t wash her, she would fall apart!) in one of the airport bathrooms somewhere near our arrival gate. Since we couldn’t get back into the airport terminal WITHOUT buying ANOTHER ticket…3 police officers searched for her. It took about 45 minutes to locate her after which…baby “Ashleigh” was transported to my daughter in a police SUV (in the passenger seat..lol) That was truly some kindness there…I couldn’t have left that airport without that dang baby doll 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful Holiday season!

    • docdude said

      Excellent! I truly believe that most people are good, decent individuals willing to help others no matter what the situation. What may seem like a waste of time to others (searching for a lost doll) meant the world to your daughter. I hope she never forgets and someday repays the kindness forward. As for the police who took the time to search, recover, and return – two thumbs up – well done!

      Katherine

      • kccc5 said

        A letter is going out…Thanking the efforts! I will send you a picture of baby Ashleigh…so sad…so dayum sad. I don’t even want to touch her…seriously. Yup.

  3. Mr. Magoo said

    Preach the Gospel…sometimes use words.

  4. fabulousrn said

    Awesome!! Wow, I hope it gets
    paid forward! 🙂

What are your thoughts on this???