Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Shoot me next time…

Posted by docdude on January 26, 2012

I have come to the conclusion that surgeons (general or plastic) are definitely not people-oriented individuals.  I saw the plastic surgeon on Monday regarding issues with my stoma (tube insertion site).   He said that an aggressive treatment of silver nitrate over a few weeks should help.  What he didn’t explain was that “aggressive” meant that he would be inflicting severe pain as he jabbed and poked the silver nitrate stick in and around the j-tubing.  OMG getting stabbed or shot could not have hurt more than what he did.  I swear my heart stopped beating at one point.  I am still in considerable pain at the stoma site.  I am supposed to return for treatment #2 next Thursday….it is going to take a lot of courage to keep this appointment.  It makes me very uncomfortable even thinking about voluntarily walking in to be subjected to his “aggressive treatment” again.

If this treatment doesn’t work, do you think they will let me shove a silver nitrate stick into him????

 

What are your thoughts on this???