Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Archive for December 3rd, 2010

The Flavor of Nutrition

Posted by docdude on December 3, 2010

TPN (IV nutrition) does not come in different flavors.  But, what, you ask, does it taste like.  Okay, so on a serious note, it goes in the vein and I don’t taste a thing.  But I can tell you what it TASTES like.   Yes, that is right, out of curiosity, I tasted it (just a drop on the end of my finger).  How do I describe the taste?  Let’s just say that the older boy was laughing his butt off at the expression on my face.  The taste is a cross between ear wax (don’t ask – for reasons that will remain unwritten – we will not be discussing how I know what ear wax tastes like), vinegar, and just a hint of stale bread.  Due to the lipids there is a slightly oily aspect to it which simply means that it doesn’t leave your mouth immediately – in fact it sorta lingers on the tongue.

Other than that, not much to report.  I saw my primary care physician on Monday.  Received my monthly B12 shot.  He’s a wee bit concerned over my fluid retention and a couple of the blood lab numbers – but unfortunately didn’t have much to offer regarding bile vomit and “what is next”.

Had a disturbing email back and forth with the GI doc today.  He stated “I am of the opinion that the only thing that will help you is surgical.  We didn’t have a chance to discuss you at the recent meeting as it was canceled for the holidays.

Surgery?  Aren’t there other options to try first?  What would the surgery address – slow bowel or esophagus issues?  What type of surgery – exploratory? I asked because I’ve not had anyone tell me what is really wrong.  I don’t feel that surgery should be considered until someone definitively knows what is wrong and that all non-invasive options have been tried.  (This doc has not seen me since July – he and I email each other.)

He then said that the ball is back in the surgeon’s court.  Gee, I feel like a tennis ball getting bounced back and forth between the two docs.  The GI doc says obstruction but the surgeon says no obstruction.

I made an appointment with Dr. S (clinical nutrition) for next week.  Hopefully, I will get some clarification from him.  He is also the one that suggested the case discussion so, hopefully, he can tell me when the next meeting will be and if my case will be discussed then.

Oh, and would you believe that the GI doc actually had the balls to write in his email to me “we’ve gone back and forth with email and it is much less personal but given my schedule it honestly makes my practice sustainable. However I think we should definitely sit down in clinic and go over things. When are you available this month?

Excuse me but when did doctors start discussing the sustainability of their practice with patients?  (Okay, so the whole “this month” ticked me off – but why should I be told about the sustainability of his practice?)  I have insurance – it’s not like he is being asked to provide his services for free.

I’ve always had respect for doctors – but lately that respect is really being tested by the ones I have encountered.  It’s like the rheumatologist who told me to make an appointment with her regarding my sarcoidosis joint issues AFTER I get my gastric problems resolved.  Hello?  What does my “gastric problems” have to do with aching joints and arthritis?

Doctors are like flavors – some are enjoyable and others are like liquid nutrition – you need them but they leave a bad after taste.

Posted in Diagnosis, Emotional, Food/Eating, Humor | Tagged: , , , , | 3 Comments »