Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Archive for December 26th, 2010

No Holiday Weight Gain

Posted by docdude on December 26, 2010

For the first time in a zillion years, I did not gain any weight over the holidays!  Okay, so I realize that this year it was beyond easy and had nothing to do with will power or good eating habits….BUT…why not celebrate the little things?

I do confess that I did indulge in some items (chew and spit) for a mouthful of flavors.  Do you have any idea how hard it is not to swallow chocolate, peanut butter fudge?  I think it takes more will power to “spit” then it does to avoid the food item altogether.

I am finding that I am craving either very spicy foods or cold fresh flavors (oranges, cucumbers, etc.).  Because I am doing the “spit and chew” I don’t feel satisfied and it is often frustrating after because I am still wanting more.

I’ve considered the possibility that my current situation could remotely (or maybe not so remotely) end up being my new normal.  Maybe I am finally finding some acceptance to how much my life has been altered in the last year and how the current isn’t nearly as bad as things have been in previous months.  I am really glad I agreed to the TPN, it has indeed had a positive impact.  It’s not perfect and it certainly isn’t what I want to continue for the next 40 some years, but if it were to turn out that way – I could live with it.

There is some inner peace that comes with this acceptance.  I am still going to keep seeking a better “normal” but at least I now know that I have an acceptable alternative.  The only downside would be the very real likelihood that full-time employment may not happen again.  This is not something I am ready to consider yet.

Eat well and enjoy the tastes of the season.  Next time you hesitate to nibble on that oh-so-yummy treat – don’t – eat it with gusto.  Savor the flavor.  Limit yourself on the quantity but not the experience.  As you finish chewing and just before you swallow, think of me, then swallow and enjoy!

(For the record, this is the most number of times I have used the word “swallow” that did not have anything to do with anything sexual.  Just  an observation, mind you.)

Posted in Emotional, Food/Eating, Humor, Random Thoughts | Tagged: , , , , , | 6 Comments »