Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Archive for December 23rd, 2010

Zombies and Ice Spiders

Posted by docdude on December 23, 2010

My friend Jenn writes reviews about B horror movies.  She also writes screenplays, is a stand up comedian, and teaches about the film industry.  I’ve never really watched B horror flicks until recently when my 15-year-old son and I watched Ice Spiders.  It was horrible.  We loved it.

Since then we actually seek out these poor acting, bad writing, terrible special effects – but oh so plausible story lines.  We have become “fans” if you will to the B horror flicks.

Last night we stayed up late so we could watch Bone Snatcher – all about some ancient oily goop creature who sucks flesh off of humans then uses the bones to give himself form.  It was so bad it was good…well…maybe not good but easy to mock.

It is nice to have something special to share with my son.  He has already got me addicted to UK’s Top Gear (I adore Richard Hammond, Capt Slow and Jeremy).  I want to be The Stig.

He also appreciates good food so what I can’t eat, he can and he enjoys it very much.

I’ve found myself doing more of the “chew and spit” simply to be able to at least taste food.  It helps some but I am continue to be left feeling unsatisfied.

At least this year I won’t have to worry about packing on any holiday weight – there is a silver lining if you look long enough.

Posted in Emotional, Food/Eating, Humor, Random Thoughts | Tagged: , , , , , | Leave a Comment »