Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Now this is amusing…

Posted by docdude on December 17, 2010

There is a feature to this blog site that allows me to see what search phrases have led people to my blog.

I was looking at the recent search phrases and one of them struck me as amusing.  Do you think you can figure out which phrase it was?

total gastrectomy message board 1
total gastrectomy blog 1
life after stomach cancer 1
what is life like after gastrectomy? 1
life after gastrectomy 1
living after a gastrectomy 1
is there life after stomach cancer 1
running after total gastrectomy 1
my turds are white 1

 

4 Responses to “Now this is amusing…”

  1. Wendy said

    I had half of my stomach removed Nov 11th,2010 due to a GIST tumor. I am having a rather slow recovery. I’ve lost nearly 30 lbs….and seem to have very little strength or energy. Also, and this is the worst, I have these horrible, foul BURPS. I can hardly stand them myself so it is hard for me to be in public or even consider going back to work soon. Has anyone else had this side effect after gastrectomy? I am desperate to find a cure for these burps and my doctors don’t seem to be familiar with the side effect. I’ve tried GasX and Tums. And I take Protonix every day for my stomach.
    HELP!

    • rymada2010 said

      Wendy,

      I am not familiar with this side affect. It might be bile fumes that you are burping. Bile is the most repulsive taste/smell in the world. You might find some luck with sucking on Tums as they help neutralize the bile a tiny bit. I chew on mint gum to help when I have bile issues – it doesn’t help me but I figure it might make the bile fumes less offensive to others. If you can eat some crackers, they will soak up the bile.

      I smiled when you said “every day for my stomach”. I still refer to abdominal issues as “my stomach” even though I no longer have a stomach.

      How are you going to function at work with so little energy?

      Katherine

      • dennis said

        After 6 months of surgery I’m beginning to burp after I start eating and it’s begining to bother me because I have to stop eating. For bille reflux I’v been taking Karafate prescribed by the doctor and it works fine . Now I have to work on the burping problem. Usually it goes away after a while . If I find a solution with my doctor I will let you know.

        • docdude said

          I am glad the carafate/karafate works for you – I did not have much luck with it.

          Does the burping occur no matter what you eat or have you noticed any patterns? Track your eating/burping for a few days and see if a culprit appears.

          Katherine

What are your thoughts on this???