Life After Total Gastrectomy for Stomach Cancer (My Journey to find a New Normal)

  • Blog Visits

    • 32,826 hits, 0 misses
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My crocheted creations….

    Scarves, cowls, rope cowls, neck warmers, bottle covers and more

  • Shop Enviable Creations – Hand crafted winter accessories

    High quality winter accessories that I make and sell.

  • Enviable Creations

  • Click to help…

    Click on Image to Donate

Another hospital visit…but luckily not mine!!

Posted by docdude on December 17, 2010

I was very pleased to return a very special favor to a good friend.  She needed a ride to the hospital for a routine colonoscopy.   Considering that I have already “been there/done that” I was able to keep her thinking positively.  Everything turned out okay and she tooted her way home in my car blissfully mellowed from the medications.

I will be planning another hospital visit myself…unfortunately.  I will be meeting with the surgeon on January 13th to discuss when to plan the 2nd surgical intervention.  My case was presented to the group of GI docs and surgeons last week.   It was a doctor group consensus that I have a partial blockage that needs to be resolved.  This will solve part of the problems I have been struggling with over the past year.  I am currently on a low starting dose of a  medication that might address the other problem – esophageal spasms.   The medication has a downside of lowering blood pressure and mine is already a little low.  Today, they upped the dose so if there are going to be problems they will probably be present soon enough.

They also bumped me from12-hour pump cycle back up to a 14-hour pump cycle because I was having some serious sugar crashes during the time off the pump.  So, I will be monitor both my blood sugars and my blood pressure a couple times a day.

I am plugging along on TPN/iv nutrition.  I’ve had problems with swollen joints, water weight gain, hair loss, bruises, cold feet and hands, sore muscles…..but I know it make take some time to tweaking my formula.  I am trying to start a very light exercise program right now to build up so much of the muscles lost during the last year. I do have a little more energy during the day – I only have short cat naps now and then instead of sleeping for hours at a time.

I’ve decided not to post anymore about the surgical issue until after I meet the surgeon on the 13th of January.  DON’T PANIC!  I will still be posting but not about the upcoming surgery.  I am not in a good place about the surgery and my chances for “complete recovery”.  I will chat about this more after I meet with the surgeon.  Right now, I just want to keep my mind focused on other things.  I need the mental strength about for the holidays.  They are going to be draining me as it is – emotionally, physically and financially.  Today is the last day of school for 2 weeks for the boys…oh joy…I wonder how many minutes it will take until I hear the all-to-familiar “I’m so bored”.

I will be posting daily – my goal!  These will be general postings about my observations of the world around me.  I think you will enjoy my twisted displays of humor.

4 Responses to “Another hospital visit…but luckily not mine!!”

  1. Lubna said

    Hugs, Doctor Dude. My BP also plummeted and the eye drops I was on had to be immediately stopped. Can’t someone make medicines which don’t lead to other miseries! Huh!

    • rymada2010 said

      Oh, Lubna, wouldn’t that be a “medical miracle”. Every time there is a commercial about some medication on TV, my kids and I chuckle about the side effects that they list…you may alleviate your original symptom but you could also experience headache, dizziness, diarrhea and/or constipation, nausea, dry mouth, irritability, sleepiness or insomnia, weight gain, thoughts of suicide, etc. Makes you wonder if it would be better to just learn to cope with original symptoms.

  2. Bryan said

    Enjoy your posts/blog…you do have a witty sense of humor and write very well. I feel for your struggles to eat and take nutrition. I had a very easy recovery and have had very little problem in adjusting to taking food orally since my total gastrectomy almost 2 years ago. I had a J-tube (into my intestines) for supplemental nutrition prior to surgery and for about 9 months thereafter. I still experiment with certain foods; liquids–I have issues I need to balance in addition to the gastrectomy (e.g., gout, high blood pressure, tendency to develop kidney stones [arising from radiology? & new physiology?]. Keeping you in my prayers for a breakthrough. Hope you have a Merry Christmas and a happy, healthy New Year.

    • rymada2010 said

      Awwww….thanks!

      It always good to hear about others who do well after this type of surgery. I hope that I will soon join the ranks of the “doing well” members soon. What foods tend to give you problems? In keeping positive about my own recovery, I am curious about future foods that might need me to “proceed with caution”.

      What is a typical day like for you food-wise? How is your energy level? Do you “feel” the same as before regarding energy levels?

What are your thoughts on this???